Skip to content

State health insurance does not pay for abortion


Idaho’s free state health insurance program (Idaho Medicaid) does not pay for abortion unless the procedure is necessary to save a person's life, or the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest. The CAIR Project is not aware of any case in which a person was able to get Idaho Medicaid to pay for an abortion.

Other options for abortion funding

  • Contact your abortion clinic to see if help is available through the clinic.
  • The Network for Reproductive Options (NRO) is an abortion fund in based in Oregon that serves Idaho residents. You can reach NRO at (541) 513-6607.

The CAIR Project – the Pacific Northwest’s abortion fund

For financial help from CAIR, please call our hotline at 1-888-644-CAIR (2247).

Funding is limited, and we cannot guarantee help to every caller. Grants are sent directly to the abortion clinic. 

When you call our hotline, please be prepared to leave a message with:

  • Your name and how to spell it
  • Phone number, including area code
  • How far along you are in the pregnancy
  • The date of your abortion appointment
  • The best time to call you back

Our trained volunteer advocates will return your call within 24 hours, Monday – Friday. Please note that calls are returned from a blocked number to protect your privacy.

Abortion law in Idaho

Medicaid and insurance

  • Idaho Medicaid (state health insurance) does not cover abortion under state law.
  • Under Idaho law, most private insurance plans do not cover abortion. To get private insurance coverage for abortion, you must pay a separate monthly premium.

Waiting period and informed consent

  • Idaho has a mandatory 24-hour waiting period. This means you have to visit the clinic two times. The first time, you must go to a mandatory “informed consent” appointment, which includes an ultrasound. Then you have to wait 24 hours before coming back for the abortion procedure.
  • At your informed consent appointment, your doctor must:
    • Offer you an image of the pregnancy on an ultrasound machine
    • Give you a pamphlet, created by the state of Idaho, that includes information on:
      • Embryonic and fetal development
      • Services available to help during pregnancy, childbirth, and while a child is under age 18, including adoption services
      • Abortion procedures and what they involve
      • The risks associated with abortion procedures (which are small compared to the risks of giving birth)

Parental consent

  • Idaho has a parental consent law. It requires written consent from one parent before a minor (person under age 19) can get an abortion. 
  • If you are a minor and not able to get parental consent, you can get a medical emergency declaration from a doctor. But the doctor is required by law to inform your parents after the abortion is performed. 
  • If you are a minor and not able to talk to your parents about the abortion, you can go before a judge and get what’s called a judicial bypass. The judge will not inform your parents about the abortion. 
  • A minor who is able to travel to Washington or Oregon for an abortion does not have to get parental consent.